"The Hawk" headed to Cooperstown
« Back
January 6, 2010 - Former RiverHawks FanFest guest Andre Dawson has been elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

The former Chicago Cub was the only member elected to the 2010 class. The results of voting by the Baseball Writers Association of America was announced on Wednesday. Dawson will be inducted into the Hall on July 25 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Dawson, who was the RiverHawks' featured guest at FanFest 2005 (pictured above with former Rockford Peaches), was listed on 420 of 539 ballots (77.9 percent) cast by the BBWAA's 10-year members. Two others - pitcher Bert Blyleven (74.2 percent) and second baseman Roberto Alomar (73.7 percent) - missed the 75-percent requirement by less than 10 votes.

Dawson, nicknamed "the Hawk", played for the Cubs, Montreal, Boston and Florida. He won the 1977 National League Rookie of the Year Award with the Expos. With the Cubs in 1987, Dawson won the NL Most Valuable Player Award. Mays is one of just three players with 400 career home runs and 300 career steals; the others are Willie Mays and Barry Bonds.

Former Cub Lee Smith, a two-time FanFest guest, received 255 votes (47.3 percent). Tim Raines, a former Expos teammate of Dawson, received 164 votes (30.4) percent. Raines, a former White Sox outfielder and coach, is the brother-in-law of RiverHawks pitcher Tanner Watson.

For more information, visit the official Hall of Fame website.


 Search Archives
Search for:

Browse archives

©2006, Rockford RiverHawks. All rights reserved.