RiverHawks announce Hall of Fame bobblehead series
« Back
February 19, 2008 - LOVES PARK, Ill. – The Rockford RiverHawks are honoring some of the greatest players in Chicago baseball history in this season’s bobblehead doll series.

The RiverHawks announced Tuesday five former Chicago Cubs that will be honored at Road Ranger Stadium this season in the Hall of Fame Bobblehead Doll series. The RiverHawks will give away bobblehead dolls featuring Ernie Banks, Billy Williams, Ferguson Jenkins, Ryne Sandberg and Ron Santo at five different Hall of Fame Bobblehead Doll Nights this season.

Fans can guarantee getting a ticket on the night each of these rare collectibles will be given away only by purchasing a mini-season or full-season ticket plan. The five-game Hall of Fame Plan starts at just $40; $50 for an infield-box seat. The starting time for each of the five nights is 7:05 p.m.

“Rockford has a great baseball following for the Cubs, Sox and RiverHawks,” RiverHawks general manager Josh Olerud said. “This year we thought it would be a special treat to offer a limited edition Cubs Hall of Fame Bobblehead Series featuring four Cubs Hall of Famers and Cubs favorite and arguable Hall of Famer Ron Santo. With the popularity we have had over the years with our bobbleheads and the anticipation on the day of, the only way to secure your complete set is to become a mini plan holder, it’s that simple!”

The scheduled bobblehead doll nights are: May 24 (Banks), June 28 (Williams), July 19 (Jenkins), Aug. 2 (Sandberg), Aug. 9 (Santo). The first 1,000 fans at each game will receive a bobblehead doll featuring that night’s player.

Banks played primarily shortstop and first base for the Cubs in 1953-71. He won back-to-back National League Most Valuable Player Awards in 1958-59 and was an 11-time All-Star. His 512 career home runs is 19th on the all-time list. Banks was voted into the Hall of Fame in 1977.

Williams won the NL Rookie of the Year Award with the Cubs in 1961 and spent the bulk of his 18-year career with Chicago. The outfielder was a six-time All-Star. He was elected to the Hall of Fame in 1987.

Jenkins won the 1971 Cy Young Award while with Chicago. He won 20 or more games six consecutive years, 1967-72. Jenkins’ 3,192 strikeouts is 12th on the career list. He was a three-time All-Star with the Cubs and pitched for three other teams in a 19-year career. Jenkins went into Cooperstown in 1991.

Sandberg was the NL MVP in 1984, when the Cubs won the East. He was a 10-time All-Star, and was the NL’s starting second baseman from 1986 to 83. Sandberg, a 16-year veteran, was inducted in 2005.

Santo isn’t in Cooperstown, though the third baseman certainly has his advocates. Other than a stint with the Chicago White Sox in his final season, Santo his 15-year career on the North Side. He was a nine-time All-Star. Santo is currently the color commentator on the Cubs’ radio network.

The RiverHawks are members of the Frontier League, a 12-team independent professional baseball league that will play its 16th season this summer. Advertising and season-ticket information is available by calling the box office at (815) 885-2255. Most games are broadcast live on WNTA (1330 AM) and the internet. Fans can also visit the RiverHawks online at www.rockfordriverhawks.com.


 Search Archives
Search for:

Browse archives

©2006, Rockford RiverHawks. All rights reserved.