Hall of Fame voters deny ex-Cub Smith
« Back
January 9, 2007 - FanFest 2007 guest Lee Smith won't be joining Cal Ripken, Jr. and Tony Gwynn on a trip to Cooperstown this summer.

Voting results were announced for the National Baseball Hall of Fame's Class of 2007 today, and Ripken and Gwynn were the only two elected.

Smith, a former Chicago Cub and the onetime career saves leader, was chosen on 217 ballots, good for 39.8 percent. Seventy-five percent is the threshold for induction. Voters are 10-year members of the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Just four non-elected players received more votes than Smith. Among them was former Cub Andre Dawson. The 1987 National League MVP was the featured guest at RiverHawks FanFest 2005.

Full voting results are available at the Hall of Fame website.

FanFest tickets are available by calling the RiverHawks at (815) 885-2255.


 Search Archives
Search for:

Browse archives

©2006, Rockford RiverHawks. All rights reserved.