RiverHawks to open 2007 schedule May 23; home opener is May 25
« Back
November 20, 2006 - LOVES PARK, Ill. – The Frontier League released its 2007 schedule today, and the Rockford RiverHawks are set to start the season Wednesday, May 23 at the Windy City ThunderBolts. Their first game at RiverHawks Stadium is set for 7:05 p.m. Friday, May 25, when they host the ThunderBolts.

Full-season and mini-season ticket plans are now on sale at the stadium box office, by phone or computer at the team website. The RiverHawks will play 51 of their 96 games at home, an increase from 48 home dates in 2006.

“We’ve gotten the schedule earlier than usual, which will give us the time to make the 2007 promotional schedule the best yet,” general manager Josh Olerud said. “In addition, fans now have plenty of time to include season tickets on their holiday shopping and wish lists.”

The RiverHawks are defending Frontier League West champs, but won’t get a chance to repeat. The league has added franchises in Marion and in Slippery Rock, Pa. to return to 12 teams after a year with a reduced membership. This time, the league will realign into three divisions of four teams each. The Central Division includes Rockford, Windy City, Traverse City and Kalamazoo. The West Division, the RiverHawks’ original home, will now include holdovers Gateway, River City, defending league champion Evansville and the new Marion team, the Southern Illinois Miners. The realigned East Division will include Chillicothe, Florence, Washington and the new Slippery Rock franchise.

Each division champion and one wild-card team will advance to the playoffs. Each round will continue to have a 2-2-1 format.

The RiverHawks’ early schedule will be somewhat unusual. They open the season with a 16-game, four-series sequence in which half of each series will be on the road. Each of the first 20 games will be against in-division opponents. The RiverHawks will have five homestands of six games or more, including a nine-game homestand Aug. 2-10 against Slippery Rock, Kalamazoo and Windy City. The ‘Hawks will play 16 times against each of their three divisional opponents; they will play six games against each of their eight inter-division opponents.

The RiverHawks are members of the Frontier League, a 12-team independent professional baseball league that will play its 15th season in 2007. Advertising, ticket and suite information is available by calling the box office at (815) 885-2255. All games are broadcast live on WRHL-FM, 102.3 – the Hub and online at www.rockfordriverhawks.com.


 Search Archives
Search for:

Browse archives

©2006, Rockford RiverHawks. All rights reserved.