'Bolts win second straight FL pennant
« Back
September 19, 2008 - Windy City repeated as Frontier League champion with a 6-5 win over visiting Kalamazoo Thursday at Crestwood.

The ThunderBolts, who swept the Kings, three games to none, in the best-of-five series, won their second straight pennant. The Crestwood franchise, which entered the league in 1999, endured eight straight losing seasons before last year's breakthrough.

In the deciding game, the 'Bolts overcame an 0-for-13 night from their Nos. 3-5 hitters. Mike Sullivan hit a two-run, go-ahead single in the fifth inning.

Windy City is the third repeat champion in league history. The Richmond Roosters won in 2001-02. Their player-manager, Fran Riordan, is now the manager of the Kings. The Erie Sailors won the 1994 pennant, moved to Johnstown, and, as the Steal, won the 1995 title.

The entire series was played at Windy City because Homer Stryker Field in Kalamazoo was flooded. The Kings, who had earned home-field advantage in the series, were the "home" team in Games 1 and 2.

For more information, visit the ThunderBolts' website.


 Search Archives
Search for:

Browse archives

©2006, Rockford RiverHawks. All rights reserved.